Current Executive Board
PORSEC is a membership organization governed by General Assembly (all members of the Association), the Scientific Organizing Committee (SOC) and the Executive Board, chaired by the president.

DanLing DanLing Tang
President, 2012
DanLing Tang (Lingzis) received her Ph.D. from Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. After conducting research and teaching in some countries for more than 10 years, Tang received the "100 Talents Program" of the Chinese Academy of Sciences in 2004 and returned to China. She was a professor at Fudan University and is now a leading professor at the Research Center of Remote Sensing on Marine Ecology and Environment, South China Sea Institute of Oceanology, Chinese Academy of Sciences.

Her major research interests include ocean dynamics of phytoplankton bloom, global environmental changes, and natural hazards. She has published approximately 70 research papers in Science Citation Index journals and one book, “Remote Sensing of the Changing Oceans” published by Springer.

Tang serves many international scientific organizations. She is a member of the AGU Council, a vice chair of Subcommission A2-Ocean Dynamics and Productivity, Committee on Space Research (COSPAR; 2010–2014); and member of the board of directors for PACON International; she has also organized many international conferences, workshops, and training courses. Tang received the Zayed Award Diploma (2006, United Nations Environment Programme), Ocean Service Awards (2007, PACON International), and the national honorary title of China National March 8 Red Banner Pacesetter (2009).

Levy Gad Levy
Vice President, 2012
Gad Levy is currently a Senior Scientist at NorthWest Research Associates at its Seattle, Washington USA Division. He is a recipient of the 2008 PORSEC distinguished service award. He earned a PhD from the University of Washington and has made significant scientific research contributions beyond the PHD in the Department of Atmospheric Sciences at the University of Washington, as faculty at the College of Oceanographic and Atmospheric Sciences at Oregon State University, and as a Senior Research Scientist at Northwest Research Associates. Throughout his career he has taught about remote sensing and the Earth sciences to university students and he has reached out with educational programs to the general public. More information about Dr. Levy's scientific accomplishments is available here.

Ebuchi Naoto Ebuchi
Executive Secretary, 2012
Dr. Naoto Ebuchi is the Director of Pan-Okhotsk Research Center, Institute of Low Temperature Science, and a Professor of Physical Oceanography at Hokkaido University in Sapporo, Japan, specializing and conducting research in Atmosphere-Ocean Interaction and Remote sensing of the ocean surface. Prof. Ebuchi has received PORSEC's Science award in 2010, has served on several PORSEC program committees, and is chairing the elections and membership committee.

Katsaros Kristina Katsaros
Treasurer, Chair of Finance, 2008
Past-President, (2004-2008)

Kristina Katsaros was born and raised in Sweden. She received her degrees and spent 25 years on the faculty at the Dept. of Atmospheric Sciences, University of Washington, U.S.A. She headed the Dept. of Oceanography from Space at Institut Francais de Recherche pour l'Exploitation de la Mer (IFREMER) in France (1992-1997). During 1997-2003 she was the Director of the Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Laboratory (AOML) of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) in Miami, U.S.A. She has been active in international work throughout her career She taught a summer school for international students from 1976 -1990.
Past Presidents
PORSEC Association Founders and Past Presidents:

Gower Jim Gower
Fourth President of the PORSEC Association, 2008-2012
Dr Jim Gower began research as a radio-astronomer at Cambridge University in England. He started work in "oceanography from space" (almost astronomy) at the Federal (Department of Fisheries and Oceans) Institute of Ocean Sciences in Sidney, BC in 1972. He has used satellites to measure sea temperature, waves, slicks, chlorophyll, eddies, currents and plankton blooms, and currently works on projects with the Canadian and European Space Agencies. He received the gold medal of the Canadian Remote Sensing Society in 2000 and the PORSEC Distinguished Science Award in 2006. He is presently working on satellite techniques for monitoring intense surface plankton blooms in seas and lakes, and on collecting surface plankton data from buoys, ships and underwater gliders.

Katsaros Kristina Katsaros
Third President of the PORSEC Association, 2004-2008
Currently Treasurer and Chair of Finance.

Sugimori Yasuhiro Sugimori
Second President of the PORSEC Association, 1996-2004
PORSEC was Yasuhiro Sugimori's (1938-2008) brainchild and he led it during many successful years of growth and recognition in the remote sensing community. He was associated with the Department of Marine Engineering, Faculty of Marine Science and Technology, Tokai University in Japan as a faculty member and department head earlier in his career, and headed the Center for Environmental Remote Sensing at Chiba University 1998-2004. He is currently involved with CReSOS, the Indonesian Center for Remote Sensing and Oceanographic Sciences, 2002 to the present. He has spent many years of his time as visiting professor and working with international committees.

Stewart Robert W. Stewart
First president of the PORSEC Association, 1990-1996
Robert W. Stewart (1923 -2005) was affectionately known as "Big Bob". Prof. Stewart supported the organization throughout his life. His career included establishment of the Institute of Oceanographic Sciences at Sidney, B.C., Canada. He was the Deputy Minister of Universities, Science and Communications in British Columbia, 1979-1984 and served as the founding Director of the Centre for Earth and Ocean Research at the University of Victoria (1987-1989). He received several honorary degrees and numerous awards.