The Association promotes ocean remote sensing by publishing proceedings, journal special issues, and books related to its conferences and courses and by awarding the PORSEC Distinguished Service Award for distinguished service within the Association or relevant to PORSEC interests, and the PORSEC Distinguished Science Award for distinguished scientific contributions relevant to PORSEC interest

Year Distinguished Service Awards Distinguished Science Awards
2016 Dr. Sei-Ichi Saitoh
2014 Stephanie King and  Dr. Bonar Pasaribu Dr. MingAn Lee and Dr. Stefano Vignudelli
2012 Dr. Eric Lindstrom Professor Masahisa Kubota
2010 Professor Kristina Katsaros Dr. Naoto Ebuchi
2008 Dr. Gad Levy Professor Werner Alpers and Dr Josefino Comiso
2004 Professor Yasuhiro Senga Dr Leonid Mitnik
2002 Professor Mal Heron Dr W. Timothy Liu and Antony A. K. Liu
2000 Professor Yasuhiro Sugimori Professor Robert A. Brown
1998 Professor Jose R. Stuardo
1996 Professor Robert W. Stewart